Easy BLT Lunch

People ask me all the time what I eat. And I’ll admit, sometimes it can be tough to come up with new ideas. This idea came to me easily, because I used love turkey BLTs.

All that’s on this quick lunch is:
2-3 romaine leaves
Paleo mayo
2 slices of turkey deli meat on each
Slices of tomato
2-3 slices of uncured bacon

And if you like, add avocado or onion too.

2015/01/img_1616.jpg

Take my advice and get uncured bacon. It holds its shape much better, and has a delicious taste. I don’t like my bacon shrinking into tiny pieces 😦 I want a nice tender thick slice, and that’s how uncured bacon tastes.

Also! Don’t eat that crud mayo in a jar. It’s gross! Especially if you’re paleo- it’s totally off limits. Mayo from jars number one ingredient is soybean oil. Not on our food list. And who knows what all those other ingredients are?

Here’s what I do. I put two organic egg yolks, 1-2 teaspoons of lemon juice, a pinch of salt, and a teaspoon of organic brown mustard in my kitchen aid on high with the whisk attachment. Slowly, REALLY annoyingly slowly, drizzle in a cup of your choice of oil. Olive oil is way strong for me, so I use avocado oil. It takes time because the oil has to be drizzled in super super slow in a tiny stream, but the pay off is heaven.

Heavenly taste, great texture, organic. You’ll never go back to the weird stuff in a jar. I promise!

Leave a Reply

